From left, Coco Martin, Gina Pareño and Cherry Pie Picache.


Gawad Urian honored this year the vision and creativity of independent films which dominated the winners list at the awards night held on May 17 at Manila Marriott Hotel in Newport City Complex, Pasay City.

“The judging was particularly difficult because 2010 is particularly a good year for indie films,” Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) member Lito Zulueta says.

And although, like last year, indie films prevailed at the judging, he points out, “I’d like to call off the impression that Gawad Urian is only for indie films; it’s just that the Philippine Cinema has been defined more and more by the indie vision.”

Hosted by MPP member/TV host Butch Francisco and “Comedy Concert Queen” Ai-Ai de las Alas and veteran actor Cesar Montano, many of the hailed winners in the 34th edition of this event — including Rosanna Roces, Sid Lucero, Joem Bascon — are mainstream stars who embrace the promise of the independent film industry.

Sid Lucero bagged his second Urian Best Actor award for the movie “Muli” where he appeared opposite Cogie Domingo.

Helmed by international multi-awarded screenwriter and director Adolf Alix Jr., “Muli,” according to a release, “chronicles the love story between an underground activist/inn keeper and a lawyer in Baguio, whose sexual relationship has been the source of their joy and tragedies.”

The Best Supporting Actress award went to Rosanna Roces for the film “Presa,” where she bested other award-winning actresses such as co-star Anita Linda (who was one of last year’s Urian Best Actress, tied with Rustica Carpio), Zsa Zsa Padilla, Maria Isabel Lopez, Rio Locsin and Liza Lorena, among others.

Vying for his first Urian award as Best Supporting Actor, neophyte Joem Bascon bested a mix of showbiz veterans, or his work in “Noy,” co-directed by lead actor Coco Martin. Bascon bested veterans and newcomers like Tirso Cruz III, Julio Diaz, Cogie Domingo and Rocky Salumbides.

Urian also recognized 10 exemplary films for their Dekada Awards, three of which were by internationally-acclaimed director Brillante Mendoza, namely “Kubrador,” “Serbis” and “Lola.”

In his acceptance speech, Brillante expressed his appreciation by saying, “For the past three years I wasn’t able to take an award from Urian because I’m always out of the country. But this year I’m here and I’m very thankful and humbled na napili ang mga ginawa kong pelikula para sa pinakamagaling na pelikula sa sampung taon, despite the fact that I have only been directing for the past five years and a half.”

With matching comic quips that brightened up the night, comedy actress Eugene Domingo, together with Pen Medina and Manunuri member Gigi Javier-Alfonso, presented the award to the Actors of the Decade.

Given to actors who starred in films that at best echoed pertinent issues in the society, this year’s recipients of the Actors of the Decade awards are former “Tayong Dalawa” teleserye co-stars Gina Pareño and Cherry Pie Picache, and the “Prince of the Philippine Independent Cinema” Coco Martin.

The 2011 Gawad Urian complete list of winners:

• Best Picture: “Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”

• Best Director: Remton Siega Zuasola, “Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”

• Best Actor: Sid Lucero, “Muli”

• Best Actress: Fe GingGing Hyde, “Sheika”

• Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon, “Noy”

• Best Supporting Actress: Rosanna Roces, “Presa”

• Best Screenplay: Arnel Mardoquio, “Sheika”

• Best Production Design: Rodell Cruz, “Amigo”

• Best Cinematography: Christian Linaban, “Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”

• Best Editing: Willie Apa, Jr. & Arthur Ian Garcia, “Sheika”

• Best Music: Jerrold Tarog, “Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”

• Best Sound: Dempster Samarista “Limbunan”

• Best Short Film: “Wag Kang Titingin,” Pam Miras

• Best Documentary Film: “Kano: An American and His Harem,” Monster Jimenez

• Natatanging Gawad Urian: Jose “Pete” Lacaba

• Aktor ng Dekada: Coco Martin, Cherry Pie Picache & Gina Pareño

• “Ten Best Films of 2000 to 2009,” in chronological order:

1) “Tuhog” (2000), Jeffrey Jeturian

2) “Batang West Side” (2001), Lav Diaz

3) “Babae sa Breakwater” (2003), Mario O’ Hara

4) “Magnifico” (2003), Maryo J. delos Reyes

5) “Ebolusyon ng Isang Pamilyang Pilipino” (2004), Lav Diaz

6) “Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros” (2005), Auraeus Solito

7) “Kubrador” (2006), Jeffrey Jeturian

8) “Serbis” (2008), Brillante Mendoza

9) “Kinatay” (2009), Brillante Mendoza

10) “Lola” (2009), Brillante Mendoza

Add comment

Security code

Latest comments