MANILA, Philippines - President Aquino has submitted the appointments of 18 of his Cabinet secretaries to the Commission on Appointments (CA) for confirmation, with Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo excluded from the list.

The CA said yesterday that the Office of the President submitted the names last Oct. 20 and the CA has notified the Cabinet members to submit the documentary requirements to the secretariat within 15 days.
Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr.’s name was added to the list.
Among those who will be up for CA scrutiny are Agrarian Reform Secretary Virgilio de los Reyes, Agriculture Secretary Proceso Alcala, Budget Secretary Florencio Abad, Education Secretary Armin Luistro, Energy Secretary Jose Rene Almendras, Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima, Foreign Affairs Secretary Alberto Romulo, Health Secretary Enrique Ona, Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Labor Secretary Rosalinda Baldoz, and Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin.
Also included were Public Works Secretary Rogelio Singson, Science and Technology Secretary Mario Montejo, Social Welfare and Development Secretary Corazon Soliman, Tourism Secretary Alberto Lim, Trade and Industry Secretary Gregory Domingo, Transportation and Communications Secretary Jose de Jesus, and National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) director general Cayetano Paderanga Jr.
The secretaries were directed to submit copies of their income tax returns; Statements of Assets, Liabilities, and Net Worth; clearance from the National Bureau of Investigation; and health records, among others.
Individuals who oppose the appointments of any of the secretaries can make a formal petition before the CA.
No hearing has been set yet because Congress had just resumed session from its All Saints’ Day break yesterday.