The past presidents of the Society of Philippine Surgeons in America (SPSA) were honored at the 45th Jubilee Grand Ball of the SPSA at the South Point Hotel Resort in Las Vegas, Nevada on Aug. 24, 2017. Members and guests from around the United States and Canada graced the fully-packed historic occasion.


Hernan Reyes, MD, FACS, FPCS (Hon.), founding president of the Society of Philippines Surgeons in America (1972) and Dr. Corazon Quiros, outgoing president, present plaque of recognition to two of the seven founding members of SPSA present: Dr. Pete Lucina and Dr. Carmelita P. Carriaga. The past presidents were each bestowed the gold presidential medallion. The traditional Chain of Command was passed on by the outgoing to incoming president, Dr. Romulado M. Laygo of Georgia.


Three of the past presidents of the Society of Philippine Surgeons in America, who were also past presidents of the Association of Philippine Physicians in America (APPA), were among the honorees at the SPSA 45th Jubilee. From left, Daniel C. Fabito, MD, FACS, FPCS, Philip S. Chua, MD, FACS, FPCS and Juan M. Montero II, MD, FACS.


The local convention organizers in Las Vegas and some of the 45th SPSA Jubilee supporters include: Chairman Daniel and Melinda Fabito, Honorio Cruz, Philip and Farida Chua, Eustaquio Abay, Sarie and Oscar Laserna, Robert Constantino, Lynn Santos, Cesar and Cely Candari, Danny and Fely Santos, Enrico and Evelyn Garcia, Lory Floro, and Conrad and Rose Manuel.